Frugal in Franklin

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wheat in your Meat? February 13, 2009

Filed under: Recipes — frugalinfranklin @ 3:21 am
Tags: , , ,

bronze-chief-hard-red-sprinI’m always game for trying something new to make our diet healthier or to help us save money.  So, I was intrigued by the idea of adding cooked wheat to our browned hamburger to make it stretch farther.  I gave it a try for dinner tonight, and I thought you might like a report.

I started with whole wheat kernels (hard white for you afficianados), which I originally purchased for grinding.  I boiled 1/2 cup of wheat and one cup of water in my rice maker.  After one cycle, it was still too firm, so I added a second cup of water and ran it a second cycle.

When it was time to cook the meat, I added 1/2 an onion, the cup of cooked wheat, and 1lb. of ground beef to a skillet.  I cooked this mixture, stirring frequently, until the hamburger was brown and the onion was soft.  I drained the beef and then added taco seasoning.  I added the seasoned meat to Mexican lasagna (think layered tortillas, meat, and cheese) and put it in the oven. 

I did not tell my family what I was up to, but it didn’t take my 12 year old son long to ask, “Is there any meat in this stuff?”  So I fessed up to what I had done.  What did my crew think:

12 yr. old son:  The wheat was a little too chewy (I would tend to agree)

Everyone else:  Couldn’t really tell a big difference.  This is perfectly acceptable to them.

My verdict:  This was okay, and I may try it as a stretcher for some other ground meat dishes.  For Mexican dishes, I think it is yummier to stretch the meat with a can of beans that have been drained (easier, too).  We often use bulgur in grilled hamburgers.  I think I may try that next time. 

Note:  You do not have to fake your family out with “wheat meat” to save money on groceries.  You will hear me say often, frugality is practically a sport for me.  It’s all in good fun.

 

One Response to “Wheat in your Meat?”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I have never heard of that, but a good idea to get nutrients and stretch the meat.


Leave a Reply

