Frugal in Franklin

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What does a $50 Grocery Budget Look like? February 6, 2009

Filed under: Grocery Deals — frugalinfranklin @ 9:47 pm
Tags: ,

My precious husband is fond of telling people that I spend $50 a week to feed our family of 5.  He is so proud of me and I appreciate it so much, but…

I can instantly see the look in people’s faces.  They kind of glaze over or even twitch.  I’m not exaggerating!  Often, they assume we must live on unhealthy, processed foods.  Some people assume we never eat meat.  Maybe they think we don’t get enough to eat.  I think some people just plain don’t believe him (for a full accounting of our food budget, see my faq section.)

So, I thought you might like to see what I purchased for $49.33 this week.  We were a little junk food heavy this week, but please don’t ignore the 5.5 lbs of fresh produce, 2 gals of milk, 3 bags of whole wheat hamburger buns, 5 bags of frozen veggies, a dozen eggs, and 6lbs. of 93/7 ground turkey!

full-week-feb-60001

 

kroger-feb600011

 

2 Responses to “What does a $50 Grocery Budget Look like?”

  1. Trina Says:

    So glad to see someone from Franklin,TN! That is where I live as well. I work in Nashville so that is what you see on my page! You got some great deals!

  2. Bethany Says:

    Great job! I try to stick to a $40/week budget for my family of 3. I know what you mean about people just looking at you and their assumptions. Some weeks we are a bit heavy on junk food, but there are LOTS of other weeks where I only buy fruits, veggies, and meat.


Leave a Reply

